Annual general meeting of shareholders

6 May 2010

The Annual General Meeting of Lafarge shareholders, which was held in Paris on May 6, 2010 under the chairmanship of Bruno Lafont, approved the 2009 financial statements.

In 2009 Lafarge successfully implemented its action plan to strengthen its financial structure, despite the challenging economic climate. The Group was able to limit the effects of the economic crisis thanks to its geographically balanced portfolio, thriving innovation, and effective measures to boost its cash flow generation and cut costs.

Lafarge shareholders approved all nine resolutions submitted for their vote.

The assembly approved a dividend of €2 per share and a loyalty dividend of €2.20 per share. The dividend will be paid on July 6, 2010 (with an ex-dividend date on July 1, 2010).

The shareholders also approved the appointment of two independent Board Members: Mrs. Colette Lewiner and Mrs. Véronique Weill.

Colette Lewiner has a professional background in energy and sustainable development, and will be a valuable asset as a member of the Strategy, Investment, and Sustainable Development Committee. Véronique Weill will be a member of the Audit Committee, where she will bring complementary experience managing businesses in an international environment.

Results of the vote will be available on the Lafarge website (


Notes to editors

Lafarge is the world leader in building materials, with top-ranking positions in all of its businesses: Cement, Aggregates & Concrete and Gypsum. With more than 78,000 employees in 78 countries, Lafarge posted sales of Euros 15.9 billion in 2009.
In 2010 and for the sixth year in a row, Lafarge was listed in the ‘Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World'. With the world's leading building materials research facility, Lafarge places innovation at the heart of its priorities, working for sustainable construction and architectural creativity.

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Didn't find what you were looking for?

If you are interested in content published before 2011, please contact the Corporate Communications team at LafargeHolcim.