Jan Jenisch

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Jan Jenisch served as Chief Executive Officer of Holcim from 2017 to 2024. Jan has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2021 and is serving as its Chairman since 2023. In January 2024, Jan was tasked by the Board of Directors to lead the planned U.S. listing of Holcim’s North American business in his role as Chairman of the Board.



Joining Holcim as CEO in 2017, Jan successfully transformed the company into the global leader in innovative and sustainable building solutions, launching the industry’s first global ranges of low-carbon and circular building solutions from ECOPact and ECOPlanet to ECOCycle®. He accelerated green growth by expanding Solutions & Products to build a global leader in roofing, while driving growth in the most attractive markets. Advancing the company’s leadership in sustainability, Holcim achieved a 42% reduction in CO2 per net sales from 2020 to 2023.

Under his leadership Holcim reached a new level of financial performance based on a superior earnings profile, with industry-leading margins and a strong balance sheet. In 2023, Holcim achieved the financial targets of “Strategy 2025 – Accelerating Green Growth” two years ahead of plan. 

Before joining Holcim, Jan was CEO of Sika AG in 2012. Under his leadership, Sika set new performance standards for sales and profitability, becoming a member of the Swiss Market Index. 

Jan studied in the U.S. and Switzerland, obtaining his MBA from the University of Fribourg in 1993. In 2021, he received a Dr. h.c. for his accomplishments as CEO of two SMI companies. Jan is a German national and was born in 1966.


Other activities and functions


  • Member of the European Round Table for Industry (ERT)
  • Member of the Executive Committee of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)
  • Board member of the Swiss-Japanese Chamber of Commerce (SJCC)
  • Lecturer in international strategy at the University of Fribourg

Follow Jan Jenisch on LinkedIn


Meet the Holcim Board of Directors

Vice-Chairwoman and Lead Independent Director